Blog hop critique winner, Editorial work experience, and other 2017 projects.

I am a bit late to the party when it comes to thinking about 2017. I spent most of January riddled with flu, and as a result, I had to put most new projects aside until now!

Flashback, 2016: Health scares, quitting, and new beginnings.

When 2016 began I was in a job that was going nowhere, despite my best efforts to improve it. Then, in June, I had an MRI scan to investigate persistent tinnitus. My ears were fine, but the scan found a cyst near my pituitary gland.

There was something inside my head that wasn’t quite normal, and I was terrified. I began to question what I was doing with my life. Or, not doing, as the case was then.

I have always wanted to be a writer, so in July 2016, I handed in my notice at work.

Occasionally, panic sets in about what the heck I am doing, but I don’t regret my decision. My life finally feels like it has direction!

Onward to 2017:

Back to work, Sherlock style jpg.jpg

My major projects for 2017 are:

Dragonspire, and Nano hop winner:

Dragonspire is my first book. My main aim for this year is to get a good draft completed. After that, I will be working with Hoda at Hodawrites, who kindly donated a 70000 word critique prize for NaNoHop, which was organised by the fabulous Raimey Gallant:

I have never won anything in my life, so I was shocked when I saw the email!

sherlock-is-johns-best-friend

I was as shocked as Sherlock was in The Sign of Three, when John called him his best man/friend!

Of course, I was also over the moon 🙂

I have 5 other works in progress, but they have taken a backseat for now. Mostly. Sometimes, they keep me up at night!

Sunday Scribbles:

To keep myself on track for the 52 week writing challenge, I invented Sunday Scribbles.

I post a writing prompt on Twitter every week, and make an attempt at the prompt with #sunscribbles. For my blog, I write around 1000 words based on the prompt. If you fancy a go too, participation is encouraged 🙂

I archive past prompts on Pinterest. It’s super handy to keep track of writing prompts: Sunday Scribbles Pinterest Board.

Work experience at Penguin Random House:

Earlier this year, I applied for a work experience placement with Penguin Random House. I was offered a 2 week placement with Vintage, in Editorial!

This will be a super exciting opportunity to ask lots of questions and see what happens behind the scenes in publishing. I will make a further blog post with more details about this on Tuesday!

Writing quests and story for a Minecraft server:

I have been asked to write stories and design quests for a Minecraft server. I only play Minecraft casually myself, and mostly to build the worlds from my stories, but I’m still pretty excited!

Writing competitions:

I want to enter some writing competitions. Amazon Kindle UK Storyteller Award looks appealing. Luckily, I don’t have to look far for more opportunities. Mica (@writevent) compiles free contests and writing events here: Writing events and contests calender

Marketing:

I need to research what else I should be doing. I currently have this blog, Twitter, and I love Pinterest. I am also on Figment.com, who send through daily writing prompts. I have signed up to ScrigglerInstagram, and Medium, but I haven’t explored them much yet. Wattpad and Facebook are on my to do list. Any suggestions for others would be appreciated too.

Organise myself and pay attention to details:

To keep on top of things, I made a list of tasks. Thankfully, most of these are one offs, so I just need to find time to work through them. 

I also recently noticed that an old blog URL, https://talesfromdragonspire.wordpress.com, which I never use, was listed as my main website whenever I liked or commented on other blog posts! I now have about 50 followers on a blog that I don’t use. I need to be more organised to avoid things like that happening in the future!

Flash and Arrow recaps: (spoilers!)

I enjoy doing Flash and Arrow recaps, and thinking up theories, so they will continue. Some writers write book reviews, I prefer doing TV recaps 🙂

My current Arrow theory is that Prometheus is not Claybourne’s son.

I am pleased that The Flash universe has finally addressed how Eobard Thawne still had his powers after Flashpoint, even if it was in Legends of Tomorrow!

Musicals/Panto:

I love to sing, but my confidence needs work. A friend of mine does Panto, and the group that she works with are doing Beauty and the Beast, my favourite fairy tale of all time. I was thinking of auditioning, before I got the news about work experience. Now, I feel torn in more directions than ever. Sometimes, I wish that there were more hours in a day!

How about you? What are your plans for 2017?

8 responses to “Blog hop critique winner, Editorial work experience, and other 2017 projects.

  1. “I also recently noticed that an old blog URL, https://talesfromdragonspire.wordpress.com, which I never use, was listed as my main website whenever I liked or commented on other blog posts”

    This exact thing happened to me! My problem was that I switched to a self hosted website, but WordPress.com sites always make me log into my account to leave comments. I’ve made sure my new site is up now, but I didn’t do it for a while, until I noticed subscribers trickling into the old site.

    Of course, since nobody actually bothered to UNsubscribe from the site I don’t use anymore, it now has more followers than my main website. What a nuisance!

    Anyway, enough ranting. Good luck with your 2017 goals!!

    ~Dianna
    http://www.thedabbler.ca

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a nightmare isn’t it? In my case, I intended to use the old URL, but I changed my mind later!
      I wonder if I might make a one off post on that old site to let people know my mistake, and redirect them to my new site if they are interested!

      Thanks, I hope that your 2017 is going well so far 🙂

      Like

  2. You should try out Google+. You don’t have to do much, just post your blogposts there (much like publicising on Twitter) and the search engines will find you quicker 🙂 Remember to fill out your bio piece completely so when people land on your Google+ page they’ll know it’s you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

