Welcome to the Jungle: 5 questions and answers. Getting to know new followers post NaNo Hop!

OK, it’s not quite a jungle, but it is the closest I have been to one!

Welcome to all my new followers, Twitter and Blog alike!

I’m Louise. Gamer, TV and Film lover, Historian, Artist, and, most importantly, Writer.

In the interest of connecting with new people, I’ve put together a few questions, and answered them myself below.

I would be interested to hear your answers to the questions in the comments, or in a blog post of your own similar to this one 🙂 Feel free to comment with a link if you do make a blog post! I’d love to find out more about you all!

1) What are you doing after NaNoWriMo 2016?

I am writing another 50000 words in December. Insane, right? Despite it being the holiday season, it’s going well so far. I am currently sitting at 42000 words this month. I will worry about the quality later, during editing. At the moment, I just want to get the story down.

How about everyone else? Are you taking a break to relax over the holidays? Editing? Writing more?

2) What is your current WIP?

Dragonspire. A fantasy adventure set in an original world with five kingdoms.

We begin our story in one of these kingdoms, which is on the brink of civil war.

Add magic, dragons, kings and heirs, and a group of characters with their own agendas and back stories to the mix, and you get a tale of adventure, self discovery, friendship, and betrayal.

I first had the idea for Dragonspire in 2010, when I was on a train travelling to university.

As I gazed out of the window, an image of a young man, sat alone on the edge of a mountain, formed in my mind. He gazed in wonder at the kingdom that existed below him, and wondered what life was like outside of his small, isolated village.

I’m a small town girl, living in a lonely world, so I can relate.

dragon-mark

The mark of a Dragon Rider, rough draft. ©DragonspireUK

(More on my crazy music references later!)

The image of that young man would not leave me alone, so I scribbled down a few notes. The man became a man bound to a dragon, and I was disappointed when my train pulled into the station.

The idea ended up in a pile with other fleeting ideas. I didn’t pick it up again until NaNoWriMo 2016, where I wrote nearly 62000 words, and defined my story.

It has become a project close to my heart. My father was killed in a car crash when I was in my second year of university. He was 53. My main character also lost his father in a sudden and tragic way. It changed him, and defined the man that he would become. A man who would be exiled from his home.

As he explores the world that he has been thrust into, my main character learns a great deal about himself. He begins to find peace with the tragedy in his past, and he learns that an attack that he witnessed on his village was part of something far greater. Something that could affect the course of the civil war.

3) What do you love most about writing?

It’s a toss up between researching, and writing dialogue.

I really enjoy details. My current fantasy world is similar to a medieval world. When my character went to light a candle, I researched how he would do this. There were no lighters in the middle ages, after all, and I didn’t want to simply write, ‘he lit the candle.’ I wanted to be able to describe how he did it, in detail.

I’m the same with fight scenes. In order to write a scene where someone breaks away from a hold, I need to understand how it’s done. I spend a lot of time watching instructional videos on Youtube!

I also love writing dialogue. There is something about that connection between people that intrigues me more than any action scene does. You might have noticed that, in my blog posts covering Flash and Arrow, I focus more on the connections between the characters and their meaningful conversations than anything else. This is why.

4) What else do you love? (That is not mentioned in an about page)

Music. Musicals. I have a weakness for Wicked, and I think that Kerrigan-Lowdermilk kick ass. New musicals? I’m there. The In-Between? I love the concept soundtrack, and I hope that it gets produced one day.

I think that the Glee cover tracks are glorious, especially the ones which feature Grant Gustin! (Mostly because he is the Flash now!) Smooth criminal is my favourite, just because of the drama of the performance.

I also love to sing, although generally when no one is around to listen. I’m not bad, just not confident yet 🙂

I find lyrics inspirational. I bounce between being incredibly distracted by music, to finding that it drives and inspires the piece that I am writing. Hence the references to song lyrics earlier in this post!

5) What is one thing that might surprise me about you?

I can’t remember the last time that I finished reading a book. I spend more time consuming television shows, and selectively reading fan fiction from my fandoms.

Because I love TV and film so much, I blog about my favourite shows. At the moment, I am addicted to the Flash, and Arrow. In the past, I loved Sherlock, but I found season 3 less enjoyable. I hope that season 4 is worth the wait.

If anyone has a recommendation for a must read book, or a great TV show, I would love to hear it. I already intend to read ‘The Alchemist,’ in 2017, as I have heard good things about it.

How would you answer these questions?

I’m also interested to hear about your favourite TV shows, films, anime, books, and any other fun and interesting facts!

Let me know in the comments 🙂

7 responses to “Welcome to the Jungle: 5 questions and answers. Getting to know new followers post NaNo Hop!

  1. I spent December revising. I have a plan to publish 6 novellas and one novel in 2017 so I started working towards that.

    Like

    • And I hit enter…lol
      I have 2 wips currently my Web novella Divorced White Female and An Amethyst in the Rough.
      Writing is like breathing to me…I wake up eager to do and I’m always thinking about it.
      Hmm what do I love? That’s a hard question esp if I’m not allowed to mention the things in my bio…I think I’ll go with my dual screened monitors on my desktop…lol
      My surprise is that I have a degree in Christian Ministry and I write romance and erotic romance. Lol.
      Nice to meet you and sorry for the choppy comment. I’m typing on my phone.

      Like

      • Wow, 6 novellas and one novel in 2017 is an amazing goal 🙂 I wish you all the best with it. My 2017 goal will be to finish my current WIP in time to start a new one next NaNoWriMo, although I always get sidetracked by new ideas that pop into my head.
        I would love a dual screened monitor, although I get the feeling that it would make me more distracted than ever!
        I love your surprise, what an interesting twist!
        Nice to meet you too, and no problem: I find typing on a phone really difficult. If I had typed all that, there would have been many mistakes!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. In fairness, the novel and 4 of the six novellas are written. I will only be writing 2 new ones and revising and editing the others. I don’t want to sound like I think I’m some kind of superhero…lol

    Like

  3. Great questions. I got your small town girl lyric reference, by the way, just so you know. I heard about another fantasy writer who had an idea on a train. I think wizards were involved…

    Here goes:
    1. I’m currently writing a short story for a ‘secret project’ my friend is organising. It’s a little hard for me, because I’m usually bad at writing to a prompt/to a deadline – but I’m doing okay so far. It’s in longhand form at the moment.

    2. It’s a secret at the moment 😉 But the other thing I’ll be doing soon is redrafting my NaNoWriMo novel. It started off as one thing and ended as another – and I actually had a plan this time!!

    3. The best thing about writing for me is delving into my characters’ heads, and messing with my readers’ heads. I love confusing my readers!

    4. I love going to the gym and working out, especially lifting weights. I became a gym instructor because I loved it so much!

    5. I watch a lot of TV too. I can’t wait for Sherlock, 3 days!!!!!! I also binge watch Castle, Rizzoli and Isles, and Murdoch Mysteries. I have them on in the background while I write, even though I don’t write crime fiction!

    Nice getting to know a bit more about you, Louise.

    Like

    • Thanks 🙂
      I am glad that you got my small town girl reference!

      My other half, who read over my post for me, pointed out that a train was how J.K. got her idea too: I never knew that before he mentioned it! Apparently, trains are very conductive to story ideas. So is driving, but I can’t write and drive at the same time 🙂

      I’m glad that you are doing OK on your project so far. Whenever anyone says ‘secret,’ my interest is automatically piqued. I am terrible with deadlines, because once I have one, I tend to put off work, and leave everything until the last minute!

      I hope that the NaNo redraft goes well. I like taking a plan very loosely. My characters always change things along the way…

      I love being a confused reader. With everything I do read, or every show that I watch, I love trying to guess what is going to happen. I’m not often right, and my theories can be downright crazy sometimes, but I have fun with it 🙂

      I bet you will have an influx of customers in the new year at the gym, what with people and their tendencies to make new years resolutions to get fit! I am no gym bunny, but I do like to cycle!

      Sherlock will be an awesome start to the new year! I can’t watch TV and write at the same time though, I get far too distracted. I’ve had Prison Break on in the background for most of the day, and not a word has been written!

      It was nice to get to know you better too 🙂 I hope that you have a fantastic New Year!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

