50000 words in December: How I plan to track my progress now that NaNoWriMo 2016 is over.

NaNoWriMo 2016 ended last week, and congratulations to everyone who participated!

Welcome to all my new followers from the blog and social media hop! I am in the process of follow backs myself. It might take a few days, but I will get there eventually 🙂

Now that November is over, it’s time to sit back, relax, and let the novel sit for a while before you edit it, right? For some of you, this may be the case. For me, it’s not even close.50k-dec-copy

In my blog post 5 useful writing tips that I learned during NaNoWriMo  I mentioned that my next step was to keep writing until the story is done. 

Therefore, in December, I plan to write a further 50000 words.

To track my progress, I have been using a free online tool, Pacemaker

It is an easy way to track progress. You can customise a plan to exactly how you want it, plan in days off, share your progress on twitter, and track word count or time spent on a project on a monthly (or longer) basis.

decembers-writing-schedule

Behold, my December writing schedule! (A screen shot of my pacemaker plan.

You might have noticed that I only write 4/7 days a week.

This is the same strategy that I used during NaNoWriMo.

I prefer to write in larger chunks, and I found that for me, writing every day wasn’t practical. There were other things that I wanted to do in my free days in November, and this hasn’t changed for December. I love to play games, watch my favourite TV shows (Flash and Arrow may be going on break soon, but Sherlock will be back in January!) and I need to catch up on reading.

During NaNoWriMo, I discovered that I prefer to have a plan. I will therefore continue to sort through my notes and write a list of plot points as I go.

I will also continue to use word sprints. At the moment, I do these on a Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday and Sunday morning from 10am-12pm (GMT) I work best in the morning: my brain falls asleep a little after lunch!

On day one, I managed 3334 words.

On day two: 3818.

On day three: 3125

I hope to maintain this momentum, so that I can relax on Christmas day! So far, with over 10000 words in December, it’s looking good.

Now that NaNoWriMo is over, I love my story more than ever before. My main character has finally been exiled, and a new character, Maria, a tomboy archer, has made her debut. I have just realised today that Maria’s mother is a lot like Lizzie’s mother from Pride and Prejudice: a fact that amuses me greatly!

Thus begins another month of crazy writing. I will keep at it until my novel is complete!

How about you? Do you plan to write more on your NaNoWriMo project, even though November is over? Or are you taking a well deserved break? Let me know in the comments!

7 responses to “50000 words in December: How I plan to track my progress now that NaNoWriMo 2016 is over.

  1. Nice schedule! I had planned something like that too but then all the other projects (job, family, christmas preparations, birthdays…) that suffered in November came back at me with a full blast… Hoping though that I can get back to my novel which I’m really missing in the meantime…

    Like

    • Thanks 🙂
      It’s pretty hard this time of year, isn’t it? I forgot completely about Christmas until the end of November, and I still haven’t finished shopping! I think myself lucky that I have no birthdays this time of year…
      I seem to like my novel even more now that NaNo is over, I’d hate to put it down now.
      I hope that you can get back to yours soon 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Go for it! Consistency is the only way. And I think being consistent on a weekly basis as opposed to a daily basis is just as effective. Good luck finishing. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

